MINUTES OF THE ALABAMA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE Executive Committee Meeting Held via Zoom and at Troy University Montgomery 2/26/2025 6:00 PM CST

Meeting was called to order by Jack Shelley-Tremblay and Vinoy Thomas

Those in attendance were Jack Shelley-Tremblay, Malia Fincher, Ken Marion, Ellen Buckner, Virginia Vilardi, Carmin Vilardi, Vineeth Vijayan, Renjith Rajan Pillai, Robert Villardi, Ken Roblee, Jean-Pierre Arditi, Doug Marshall, Cynthis Lovelace, Ardiane Ludwick, Uduak Afangideh, Matthew Edwards, Stefanie Varghese, Diann Jordan, Ron Hunsinger, Vinoy Thomas, Mark Caulkins, Camille Westmont, Byunghoon Lee, Stephen Babaloa, Lauren Rast, Mohit Anand, Akshaya Kumar, Tenzig Ingty, Padmaja Guggilla

The meeting minutes from the Fall 2024 Executive Committee Meeting were reviewed and approved.

Jack Shelley-Tremblay led a meeting discussing the spring AAS meeting at Troy University in Montgomery, including the parking, event arrangements, agenda for the meeting, and detailed plans.

The slate of new AAS leaders was presented and their service acknowledged.

Ron Hunsinger was approved as the new Executive Director and Jack Shelley-Tremblay will be the associate director.

The meeting also covered updates on next year's meeting at Faulkner University. Meeting hosts are sought for 2027 and 2028. There will be a major schedule change next year, with the meeting moving to Friday and Saturday.

The resolutions were presented and approved by a unanimous vote.

The officer reports and section chair reports were presented in writing.

Timing of regional science fairs was discussed.

An update on the Alabama Science Trail was presented by Ellen Buckner.

A position statement is being prepared by members of the AAS about the state of science in our country.

Three resolutions were approved. Please find the details attached.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:37 PM.



A Resolution of Recognition for Troy University at Montgomery

To honor and recognize Troy University at Montgomery, the College of Science and Mathematics, and the Local Arrangements Committee for their outstanding efforts in hosting the 2025 Annual Meeting of the Alabama Academy of Science, Alabama Junior Academy of Science, and the Gorgas Science Competition on February 22-23, 2025.

Whereas, Dr. Kenneth Roblee, Professor and Chair of Mathematics and Statistics, and Dr. Robert Vilardi, Lecturer in Mathematics and Statistics, Troy University at Montgomery, did chair the Local Arrangements Committee and coordinated all arrangements for this highly successful 2025 Annual Meeting;

Whereas, Troy University at Montgomery Administration did support the meeting with excellent facilities on their beautiful campus;

Whereas, Troy University at Montgomery did provide outstanding hospitality throughout the meeting;

Whereas, Troy University at Montgomery faculty and staff generously provided their time to assure the success of the meeting;

Now, therefore, be it resolved, that the Alabama Academy of Science honors and recognizes Troy University at Montgomery and the Local Arrangements Committee for their outstanding efforts in organizing and conducting this 102nd Annual Meeting of the Alabama Academy of Science, February 27-28, 2025.

Be it further resolved that this Resolution is saved in the permanent minutes of the Academy and a copy of this resolution be forwarded to Troy University at Montgomery,

As adopted on this 27th day of February 2025 by the Alabama Academy of Science,

Vinoy Thomas, President

Ronald N. Hunsinger, Executive Director



A Resolution in Recognition of Distinguished Service by Dr. John Shelley-Tremblay

Whereas, the mission of the Alabama Academy of Science is to promote and support all aspects of science and science education in Alabama, including meetings for increased cooperation and fellowship among its members, the publication of scientific works, and the distribution of scholarships and awards to deserving scientists from Alabama;

Whereas, Dr. John Shelley-Tremblay served as the Executive Director of the Alabama Academy of Science from 2023-2025, and served as the President of the Alabama Academy of Science from 2022-2023, has held offices and positions too numerous to recount, has mentored up and coming officers and members of the Academy as well as generations of students;

Now, therefore, be it resolved, that the Alabama Academy of Science honors and recognizes Dr. John Shelley-Tremblay for his outstanding service to science in managing and sustaining the future of the Alabama Academy of Science, and for exemplifying the role model of a scientist of the highest caliber;

Be it further resolved that this Resolution is saved in the permanent minutes of the Academy and a copy of this resolution be forwarded to Dr. John Shelley-Tremblay,

As adopted on this 27th day of February 2025 by the Alabama Academy of Science.

Vinoy Thomas, President

Ronald Hunsinger, Executive Director



A Resolution in Recognition of Distinguished Service by Dr. Lawarence J. Davenport

Whereas, Dr. Lawarence J. Davenport, a distinguished member of the Alabama Academy of Science, has consistently demonstrated exceptional dedication to the advancement of scientific knowledge through groundbreaking research in field of biology, particularly botanical science;

Whereas, Dr. Lawrence J. Davenport's commitment to mentorship and fostering the next generation of scientists within the Academy has been exemplary;

Whereas, Dr. Lawrence J. Davenport has given leadership to the Alabama Academy of Science by serving as it's 2nd-, 1st-Vice President, and President;

Whereas, Dr. Lawrence J. Davenport was awarded a Fellowship in the Alabama of Science, an award conferred upon an individual for noteworthy contributions to the State Academy and for keeping the highest academic, professional, and scholarly standards;

Whereas, Dr. Lawrence J. Davenport was honored in 2007 as Alabama Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education;

Now, therefore, be it resolved, that the Alabama Academy of Science honors and recognizes Dr. Lawrence J. Davenport for his outstanding service to science in managing and sustaining the future of the Alabama Academy of Science, and for exemplifying the role model of a scientist of the highest caliber;

Be it further resolved that this Resolution is saved in the permanent minutes of the Academy and a copy of this resolution be forwarded to Dr. Lawrence J. Davenport,

As adopted on this 27th day of February 2025 by the Alabama Academy of Science.

Vinoy Thomas, President

Ronald Hunsinger, Executive Director